PopSecretMountain.com is just a fan site, right? I know so because in the "about" section of the site, it says the following:
Who made this stuff?
People who love Pop Secret popcorn that's who.Pop Secret paid you to do this...
No, they didn't. We're not making a dime off of this.
I love a cat wearing a pirate suit just like anyone else, but in the first 2 seconds on this site, I could smell the "fake" user generated content from a mile away...
After the folks at AdLand received a strange email trying to spread the word about the site, someone pointed them to a little company called Your Media Coverage. If you check out their "projects" page, you can clearly see "Pop Secret Mountain" right there. Way to go, guys!
When are marketers going to learn? You can't fake this stuff.
Update: It seems that one possible explanation is that these folks basically create everything as "spec" or as a part of contests and "user generated" submissions. The Toyota Yaris work they talk about on their site, for example, was created as a part of the "user generated" advertising that Current TV accepts. I could go on, but I'd rather not give publicity to a company that does bad spec work.

